19 Newhall Street was built as the new Central Telephone Exchange and offices for the National Telephone Company (NTC) and is popularly known as the Bell Edison Telephone Building - the NTC logo behind the wrought iron gates to the main entrance includes those names
Chromolithographed postcard of Golliwog and Dutch dolls titled "Golliwogg's" auto-go-cart. The toy became popular in 1895 when "The Adventures of Two Dutch Dolls and a 'Golliwogg'" by Bertha Upton was published and illustrated by her daughter Florence U
London: Communications: Scott telephones: Telephone kiosks: telephone boxes: red culture: 20th. century design: Design: Street furniture: Post Office: British Telephones:
A classically attractive example of the original Gilbert Scott design for the second generation telephone kiosks; the K2 evolved into the smaller, ubiquitous K6, with differently designed window panes so common in town and country landscapes for so long but now permanently at risk first from the design being unsuitable for modern operations and ultimately from pure redudnancy in the face of mobile phone technology. The majority of the K2s that remain are in bigger towns and cities like this one in London
London: Communications: Scott telephones: Telephone kiosks: telephone boxes: red culture: 20th. century design: Design: Street furniture: Post Office: British Telephones: Stamps: Stamp machines:
This is a rare surviving variation of the Gilbert Scott successful 20th. century range of designs for telephone kiosks. Based on the K2 design the K4 combined stamp vending facilities as well as telephone communication.
DESIGN21, phone box, phone kiosk, telephone kiosk, iconic, red phone box, Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, K6, K6 phone box, press button A, press button B, call box, public phone box, communication, GPO, Post Office Telephones, BT, British Telecom,
Iconic British red K6 phone box with button A and button B controls for payment for calls. Designed to and introduced to commemorate the silver jubilee of King George V in 1935, the K6 was an extension of the original K1 designed by by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott in 1924.